How To Get Legal Advice After A First Dui Conviction
What are the penalties for a first DUI offense?
Your first DUI offense (also known as driving under the influence) is a serious offense. If you are convicted of a First DUI Offense, you will be subject to certain minimum sentencing requirements. If you’re facing jail time for your first DUI, you have the right to get out of jail rather quickly. Having Las Vegas DUI defense lawyers represent you is the best way to accomplish this.
Nevada law requires that anyone convicted of driving under influence (DUI), must serve time in jail. This can mean serving time in state prison or in jail. A DUI defense attorney can help a defendant fight the charges.
These sentences are for Nevada’s First DUI Offense.
- Incarceration/Jail Time
- The minimum time you will spend in jail is 48 hours. The maximum time in jail is 180 days. The court can sentence you to 96 hours of community service if you are convicted of a first DUI offense. This is in addition to jail time.
- First DUI Offense Fines
- A court can impose a minimum of $400 in fines. They can also impose fines up to $1,000. This does not include court costs.
- Suspension of Driver’s License
- The Department of Motor Vehicles must suspend your driver’s license for a period of at least 90 days. During the first 45 days, you will not be permitted to drive. After 45 days, it may be possible to obtain a restricted driving license that allows you to drive to your workplace and back. This period of 45 days is called the “hard suspension period”.
- DUI School
- You will need to complete a traffic safety course if you are convicted for a first DUI offense. The state must approve this school. This school takes 8 hours to complete and is also known as “DUI School”. It will cost approximately $150.
- Alcohol Treatment Program
- Sometimes, it is required that you attend and complete an alcohol treatment course. This program will cost you money in addition to any files or legal fees.
- For those who have a BAC greater than 0.18, there are special requirements that may include the following:
- Additional penalties will be imposed on those with a blood alcohol level (BAC) above 0.18. These penalties include:
- A DUI Assessment Program. An additional $100 is required for this program.
- A Victim Impact Panel. A fee of $40.00 is required for this panel.
- A court may require that you have a Breath Interlock device installed on your vehicle for anywhere from 12 to 36 months.
- A court might require you to have a Breath Interlock device installed on your vehicle and maintained for at least 3 to 6 months, even if your blood alcohol content was less than 0.18.
- You may need to attend significant counseling about drug and alcohol abuse, depending on the results from the DUI Assessment Program.
Real First DUI Offense Penalties
The above First DUI Offense penalties are only part of the many criminal penalties for those caught driving while under the influence of alcohol. It is highly recommended that anyone charged with DUI consult an experienced DUI attorney. An experienced attorney will ensure you are represented properly and protect your rights throughout the entire process. Contact our office immediately for a complimentary consultation.
Hire A Las Vegas DUI Defense Attorney
You should hire a Las Vegas DUI defense lawyer if you have been charged with your first DUI. This highly competitive field is home to many skilled lawyers. It is possible to reduce or dismiss your DUI charges even if you have been convicted before. An experienced Las Vegas DUI defense attorney can help you build a strong defense against the first offense.
It’s important that you consider all your options when choosing a DUI defense lawyer. Your attorney may want to contact the officers who have put you behind bars. It is important to know what the officers’ initial thoughts were when you pulled you over. An experienced DUI defense lawyer can also present evidence to reduce your sentence. Your attorney will work hard to convince the judges or jury that you are not guilty of your first DUI.