Nevada DUI and DWI Crimes Laws Explained

Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is not a smart idea. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist in order to see why thousands of impaired drivers continue to drive every year. The Nevada DUI and DWI Crimes laws are meant to protect the public from impaired drivers.

Nevada DWI laws, like all states, have strict laws in place to penalize drivers convicted of DWI. Even if the punishments seem harsh, it’s because they are meant to scare people from driving drunk again.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit

Each state has its own rules regarding the limit at which a person can be considered impaired. This is measured using blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Nevada DUI laws state that the BAC limit is 0.08%. Commercial drivers are subject to a 0.04% limit, and drivers under 21 years old are subject to 0.02%.

You can also get impaired by other substances than alcohol. You can also be convicted of DUI if you have any trace of illegal substances such as heroin, cocaine, heroin, opium or methamphetamines, or acid.

Nevada DUI and DWI Crimes Laws

Nevada has two types of DUI laws. Drivers should be aware of the Illegal Per Se and Implied Consent laws. “Illegal Per Se” refers to the fact that even though when BAC exceeds the legal limit, it results in an inevitable conviction, these limits can be used as a guide. Even when your blood alcohol level tests lower than the limit allowed by law, if it is detectable you can still be arrested. Implied Consent means that if an officer pulls you over, you will be required to take a BAC test. If asked, “giving your consent” to the test is implied as soon as you get behind the wheel. If you decline to consent, the police officer can then use reasonable force if necessary and you could be arrested for resisting arrest.

Penalties for Breaking Nevada DUI and DWI Crimes Laws

A DUI conviction can result in severe penalties. The average Nevada traffic fine is much more severe when it is not the first offense. There are also penalties for DUIs that cause death or serious injuries, even if they’re a first DUI and DWI Crimes offense.

Nevada DUI First Offense:

  • Fines between $400 to $1,000
  • Mandatory DUI School with an average cost of $150
  • 90 Days License Revocation
  • Jail sentence of 48 hours to 6 Months or 96 Hours of community service
  • Potentially assigned to a substance abuse treatment program

Second Nevada DUI Offense within a 7 Years Period:

  • Fines between $750 to $1,000
  • One Year Driver’s License revocation
  • 10 days to 6 months jail sentence or house arrest
  • Community service between 100 to 200 hours
  • Potential suspension of car registration
  • Potential to be assigned to a substance abuse treatment program and or clinical supervision

Third Nevada DUI Offense within a 7 Year period:

  • Fines between $2,000 and $5,000
  • Three Year License Revocation
  • Sentence to Prison of 1 to 6 years
  • Potential suspension of car registration

DUI that causes the death or serious injury to another, even if it is a Nevada DUI first offense:

  • Fines between $2,000 to $5,000
  • Three Year License Revocation
  • Sentenced to Prison for 2 to 20 years

Safeguard Yourself from Other Drivers

Anyone who happens to be in an impaired driver’s path can be affected, regardless of whether they are cyclists, pedestrians, or motorists. A sober driver has a lot of options to help ensure their safety. First, call *NHP (*647) to report a driver you suspect of driving impaired. You should always pull over if you are driving or have a passenger make the call.

These are some things to watch out for. These are all signs that someone could be driving while impaired.

  • Weaving or swerving
  • Sudden changes in speed
  • Night driving without the headlights on
  • The driver stops on the road for no apparent reason
  • Comes close to colliding with other vehicles or objects
  • Response times are impaired

It doesn’t matter what you call it, driving when you are over the legal limit can be dangerous. A Nevada DUI and DWI Crimes conviction or traffic ticket is also a serious possibility. It is better to walk, call an Uber or taxi, call a friend to drive you home, drink at home or not drink at all.

Browse next article